Liebster Award for Captains Travel!

Liebster-Award-Pict

Thank you for this award nomination from Malia Cunningham, of Malia’s Passport.

I had heard about this Liebster Award through various mediums, including Facebook and Twitter, but had no idea what it was all about. Then I found I was nominated for the award by Malia, of Malia’s Passport. Like me, she is a new blogger, and her travel experiences are already ranging far and wide around the world. Her posts on Thailand are an ideal insight into travelling there, and point out a lot of things new travelers to Asia should look out for. Especially the tuk-tuks in Thailand. Asia has a lot of these cheap, simple transports (The Philippines has the trisikel) and they will always try to scam or overcharge foreign tourist. The post has some excellent advice for others, from someone who has experienced Asian transport.

The intention of the Liebster Award is to promote new bloggers, and give them the recognition they deserve, for just being brave enough to “give it a go”. New bloggers have a major impact on the blogging community, and bring in new blood and fresh ideas. I thought I would have a look around the web, and see what I could find about this, and the best explanation was on a blog from Lorraine Reguly, of wordingwell.com. This is what she had to say about it:

Most bloggers, at some point, have heard of or received the Liebster award, unless you are a newbie! From the extensive searches I have conducted in my attempts to learn about this award, I have visited a bunch of blogs and gleaned the following information:

  • This award exists only on the internet, and is given to bloggers by other bloggers.
  • It has German origins – the word “liebster” has several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and boyfriend (really?)
  • It follows similar principles as a chain letter, in the sense that it should be passed forward to a certain number of people.
  • It can be misconstrued, depending upon your personal views, as either something wonderful (who doesn’t like awards?) or as an annoyance (a chain letter that involves work).
  • The choice lies within each of us to ACCEPT it, and continue PAYING IT FORWARD or to refuse to accept it, thereby STOPPING or INTERRUPTING the chain. However, if you stop the chain, you are only hurting yourself (keep reading for benefits you will have)!
  • Personal views play an important part in our choice to participate. Some people have refused to accept it and have made attempts to “break the chain”. There have been many people who have been nominated, yet refused to accept it, and now their blogs have been abandoned.
  • Variations have been made over time to the “rules”.
  • Marketing plays a role in accepting this award, as other bloggers are promoted. (This is not a bad thing, however, since people should help others!)
  • Other awards are a part of the whole “meme“. These include “One Lovely Blog Award”, the “Sunshine Blog Award” and the “Versatile Writer Award”.

It is said that the Liebster award was created to recognize and/or discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere. In the digital world of the internet, this seems like a nice gesture, in my opinion!

I have to agree, it can’t be a bad thing to forward something like this, and help each other increase our followers and give new bloggers a boost. Confidence can be hard to come by when you only have a few regular readers of your blog.

Despite the many rule changes that Lorraine described, I’ll stick to the rules that Malia laid out, and continue this award in that vein. Please do the same, if you are nominated, and keep this going. As the media will tell you, and I learnt from years of writing for news media: There is no such thing as “bad” publicity, just publicity.

Questions from Malia’s Passport.

What is one of your favorite childhood memories?

My first ever holiday. I was only 3-years-old, and we went all the way to Weston-Super-Mare, in Somerset, for a whole week. For the “me” I was then, it was an amazing experience, since I had never been anywhere except the small village where we lived. And I can still remember hunting out the best shells in the rock pools near the pier.

Where is your favorite place that you have traveled to?

I actually have three favourite places. New York was one of my favourite places to go shopping in the past. I especially miss the sandwiches there, which are always deliciously tasty and huge!

Another is still the home I will always miss, Scotland. I have been back there thousands of times over the last four decades, and love the wild, open highlands more than anywhere.

Last, but by no means least, my home away from home, the Philippines. This may be a third-world country, but it is filled with wonderful and spectacular sights, wherever you go. And the people are among some of the friendliest I have met on my travels around the world. I love it so much, I now live here permanently with my Filipina wife and kids.

What inspired you to create your blog?

My work. I’m a writer for several marketing and travel websites around the world, and work from my home here in the Philippines. Writing about all the places the sites promote tours to made me think more about the places I have been, and the places I still want to go to. The idea started almost a year ago, but the pressures of work and other things in my life meant it had to wait. This year was the perfect time to get it started, and try to let people know what I had seen over the past 40+ years. And the places here in the Philippines, and around the world, that I still intend to visit.

If you could choose any job to have (besides blogging!) what would it be?

A food critic/writer. I love food. All food. To be able to eat anywhere for free (the best things in life are free!) and get paid to say what I thought of the food would be heaven on earth. Although I may well end up a little fat(ter!).

What is your favorite blog post that you have written and why?

Many of my blogs have been written as information for people who want to visit a certain country or city, and while I have been to many of the places I write about, the intention of those blogs is to inform and get people traveling. My favourite blog post was the one I wrote recently on Street Food in the Philippines. I love the street food here, and I wanted to share with people what it really tastes and looks like, and give them a little realistic insight into the type of food that is eaten here, as snack food. I also have plans to write more about the reality of living in the Philippines, as a Filipino, not as some foreigner living in an exclusive subdivision and riding air-conditioned cars all the time, which most do.

So how does the Liebster Award work?

Bloggers who have been nominated for the Liebster Award are responsible for passing it on to other new bloggers, people they think deserve recognition for their efforts and their ideas. Once nominated, you are asked to answer the questions of the nominator, and then pass the nomination on to five other new bloggers, as the rules below state.

This is a great way for new bloggers to get a bit of a confidence boost, and know that there really are people who are reading their blogs every day, and giving them some recognition for their hard work.

The Rules

  • Write a blog post in acceptance of the award, with a link back to your nominator (me), and answer the questions that you are asked by me.
  • Nominate at least five (5) people that you think deserve the award, and are new bloggers with less than 1,000 followers on social media.
  • Include a list of questions that you would like them to answer. Just not too personal!
  • Notify your nominees of their nomination.

My Nominations

My Questions for the Nominees

  1. What prompted you to start a blog, and where did you intend it to go?
  2. What is your biggest challenge in blogging, and how will you overcome it?
  3. Who is the most important person in supporting your blogging efforts?
  4. Where do you see your blog in five years?
  5. If you could go back and do one thing differently, what would it be, and why?

Again, I wish to thank Malia’s Passport for this award, and my family for being so supportive, and the director and film crew without whom this would not have been possible. What? It’s not an Oscar? Oh…

Joke lang, ha? He he!

 

Leave a Reply

